Visual Biographies – research

 

 

grc3a4ngesberg_19002289481758_25d4121391

stckcity
Stockholm

Although I do not want the imagery of my illustrations to be too straightforward and predictable in composition and perspective I still need to be able to correctly illustrate the fashion and architecture of swedish life throughout the 1900’s. I have noticed a running theme of dark brown almost red wood through swedish culture and this is something i would like to incorporate into my work, this however will mean I am unable to stay true to my hoped limited colour palette of blue and yellow. The high slanted roofs of their houses are internationally recognised and Lindgren lived in the very one below which features the classic white on dark brown combination of swedish houses.

10_7_Barndomshemmet-nas

 

These are two classic examples of early 1900’s prams, I really like the ornamental quality of both of these prams with the right of the two being incredibly elegant with the classic shape and hood  but clearly of later years. I would like to use the imagery of a pram for my first page featuring astrid as a child and using the pram to give a sense of time period.

Leave a Reply

