A Streetcar Named Desire – First Response

We started by watching the 1951 film version of ‘A Streetcar Named Desire’ and making visual notes. We were then instructed to create character metaphors of the main four characters, Blanche, Stanley, Stella and Mitch using household kitchen utensils.

For my characters I chose a cheese grater to represent Stanley, Blanche as a slotted spoon, Stella as a wooden spoon and spatula for Mitch. I chose to have both Blanche and Stella as spoons since they are sisters and I wanted to contrast them in terms of durability/tolerance. We created scenes using these metaphorical characters combined with different extracts from the text.

IMG_2273 IMG_2274 IMG_2275 IMG_2276 IMG_2277

I decided to make the third scenario 3D to represent Blanche’s mental decline with the character of Blanche in the middle at the bottom.

Initial ideas 1 2 3

These are my rough sketches to get the basic shapes down that came to mind when asked to change the characters form into non-animate objects.

I found this workshop really interesting since we were encouraged to completely disregard characters faces/human features which is something I haven’t really thought about doing before so I think this workshop was very beneficial for getting me out my comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

